Install Oracle Service Bus with Vagrant

Oracle Service Bus

Oracle Service Bus

I am working with a team on a  federated a service bus design for a customer.  It is one thing to sketch out a design on paper and it is another to start looking at more implementation specific details.  

While I have installed OSB many times, I wanted to have an installer which would have more agility. While I like virtual machine templates, they have limitations when you start changing  fundamental infrastructure pieces such as the JVM, the OS, patches to the AppServer.  From a configuration management perspective, developers get caught in not incorporating those changes in their work and this leads to errors when the application goes through the deployment cycle to dev, test and prod.  In addition, many of these templates are really made for production rollout and management and are tuned accordingly.

Over the past week, I have been working on setting up a focused automated install and domain creation for OSB (ps6).  I have posted the install on github.  As before, I have been using Edwin Biemond’s modules and making them task/product specific in a single package that works everytime for a developer or someone evaluating.  I know there are many postings about installing OSB. I am more interested in removing the cruft so that you can get started using the product in very short order.  In this case, you can have the bits installed and the running domain complete in about 15 minutes.

https://github.com/matthewbaldwin/vagrant-osb

This took Edwin Biemonds sample OSB template and focused just on installing OSB with the latest modules that he had published.  His module scripts had migrated since he initially wrote them and this is a self contained script that you can use.

I am not going to go over the install process, that is pretty self explanatory (read the WLS 1212c on this blog for some analogous detail on getting Vagrant installed on a Windows machine).

Some features of the site.pp script that I want to highlight.

  1. Patching WLS 10.3.6 with BSU so that you are always using the latest patchset.
  2. OSB Domain Creation and Starting the Domain
  3. Create keystores for automatic WLST login for scripting.

Edwin Biemond’s github repos can be found here:

https://github.com/biemond

Enjoy…

Matt

Tagged , ,

13 thoughts on “Install Oracle Service Bus with Vagrant

  1. Frank says:

    where can we get p17071663_1036_Generic.zip from (where in edelivery?)
    Thanks!

  2. Frank says:

    Thanks !

  3. Frank says:

    I was able to get the patch, I ran vagrant up at the command line however it failed, I was getting several “successful” statuses until this point:
    Notice: /Stage[main]/Wls1036/Wls::Installwls[11g1036]/Notify[wls::installwls 11
    1036 /opt/oracle/wls/Middleware11gR1 does not exists]: Dependency Package[unzip
    x86_64] has failures: true
    Notice: /Stage[main]/Wls1036/Wls::Installwls[11g1036]/Wls::Utils::Defaultusersf
    lders[create wls home]/Group[dba]: Dependency Package[unzip.x86_64] has failure
    : true
    Notice: /Stage[main]/Wls1036/Wls::Installwls[11g1036]/Wls::Utils::Defaultusersf

    Any idea what’s wrong?
    Thanks

    Frank

    • vbatik says:

      It looks like the unzip package on the os was not installed. Were you connected to the internet when you did the vagrant up? It is easy to check..after the failure you can log into the machine with “vagrant ssh” and then run “unzip” to see if it was installed.

      If it wasn’t installed then run the command “yum install unzip” as root and it should install. Which leads to the next question…what is the password for root. Well, that is easy, the password is “vagrant”. This is the same for all vagrant boxes.

      You can then exit back to the command line and run “vagrant provision” to re-run the provision scripts. This will recompile the site.pp and try and complete the install. hth.

  4. Frank says:

    I did follow the steps and found out that I cannot ping outside from the VM even though my laptop has internet access. I will keep looking into it, Thanks again for your time/help,
    Frank

    • vbatik says:

      That sounds suspiciously like a proxy problem? The networking is set up in the Vagrantfile which is located at the root of the project. You could try a bridged connection.

    • vbatik says:

      As per the other comment…networking is setup as NAT by default in the Vagrantfile. The adapter is set to auto connect in the centos64.box. The centos64.box is just a compressed tar image of a VirtualBox image if you need to go that far down the rabbit hole.

  5. Frank says:

    Success! I followed your advice and uncommented config.vm.network :public_network and it worked like a charm!. Thank you very very much for your invaluable help.
    Frank

    • vbatik says:

      Glad to be of service! I hope you think it was kind of slick…I do.. 😉 I am working on some other configs that I will be able to share, so stay tuned. You can follow me at @baldwinonline on twitter. When I am complete I will announce there…good luck with OSB…it is a good bus.

      • Frank says:

        Very slick indeed! I can’t tell you how happy I am right now staring at my Farm_osbDomain. Thanks again and keep up the great work

Leave a Reply

